Flock it to me?

I’m blogging this from Flock, the not-yet-released web browser that’s making all the geeks hot under the collar. Don’t quote me on this, but I think this might be the first day it’s publicly available, so I’m one of the very first Flockers, or Flocksters, or whatever you call ’em.

So what’s Flock? It claims to be the first Web 2.0 browser. It’s based on Firefox and seamlessly integrates web services like del.icio.us, Flickr, and, of course, various blog services, which is what I’m doing right now. (If you download it, by the way, you can get a guaranteed WordPress.com account.) Now, it remains to be seen how usable this all is. I never really saw the point of del.icio.us — why would I want to share my bookmarks? — and I’m still trying to figure out Flock’s bookmark management. But I definitely admire that they’re trying to do something different with the browser. As one of the developers points out:

In the ten years since Netscape 1.0 launched, the web has evolved tremendously, but the user experience of the web browser has remained largely unchanged. … [A] user migrating from Netscape 1 to Firefox 1 would feel right at home.  We think there’s room for innovating the web browser user experience.

I concur, so I shall be sticking around to see how this develops.

Technorati Tags: Internet, Weblogs

2 responses to “Flock it to me?

  1. Very interesting! I guess that’s what I get for not reading Slashdot anymore.

    You’d want to share bookmarks if you wanted to access them from different machines. Or if you want to blog about them while bookmarking them at the same time. This guy does that effectively.

  2. Yeah, I’m beginning to appreciate del.icio.us more now that I’m signed up.

Leave a Reply

